Yougoslavia excluded from the World Championship Pool C 1999 in the Netherlands

On April 1st 1999 Staatssecretaris (Deputy Minister) Margo Vliegenhart of the Dutch Ministry for Health, Welfare and Sport informed the Dutch Ice Hockey Association that the Dutch Government had taken two steps to prevent the participation of the team of the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia at the World Championship in Tilburg and Eindhoven, from April 5th till 11th. These two steps are:

Margo Vliegenhart urges the Dutch Association to do their utmost to prevent the participation of the Yugoslav team and wishes them lots of success with the organisation of the tournament.

Read the Letter (in Dutch) the Deputy Minister wrote.

On this short notice the IIHF could not designate another country and therefor the World Championship will only be played by seven teams. The Dutch Association had allready drawn up an alternative schedule in case Yugoslavia was not to participate.